One of the historical features of Withington is the Roman mile post situated on the Worcester road. The only thing that can still be read on it is “This is the road to Hereford”; it was part of a cross but was made into a mile stone in 1700.
Withington also has a church a small primary school, and the Cross Keys pub. It is a small village surrounded by fields, but has a growing population with new houses being built.
Withington used to be home to the Meadow Market, a supermarket that serviced the local community, and it was later bought and renamed by the Normans Super-Warehouse chain. This became the northern most branch of Normans. The store closed in 1998 and became several smaller shops on the newly named Withington Retail estate. The site now stands as a housing estate.